Learning to Use the Toilet! (Part 3)

After I have finished this post I will have brought you up to speed on our toilet journey thus far. We are by no means at the end, I will post more as we progress further. Little Bean was at the younger edge of normal when she started learning about using the toilet and from what I can gather, the younger they are the longer the journey takes. If you haven’t yet, you might like to go back and read Part 1 and Part 2.

So, Little Bean had successfully transitioned from full time nappy wearer to wearing pants…but only during the day and only when we were at home. I still hadn’t plucked up the courage to take her out into the big, bad world as a fully fledged pant wearer. The problem was the pull ups she was wearing when we were out were starting to confuse the issue. And I knew this was going to happen, that’s why I had always said I would NEVER put her in pull ups. But I guess I thought I could somehow prevent this, if I just kept taking her to the toilet or kept telling her that they were special pants and not a nappy. But, at the end of the day, that’s exactly what pull ups are, a nappy that you can pull up. I knew this, and Little Bean knew this! She started peeing in them and, as if nothing had happened, would carry on her merry way. Well, this wasn’t how I had seen our journey heading, after all that Little Bean had learned in the past few months I didn’t want to start going backwards! So I grabbed the proverbial bull by the horns and ditched the pull ups. I ordered some cloth training pants (I’ll give a review of the ones I got soon) and used those while we were out. These allowed me to go out in the confidence that I wouldn’t have to clean any puddles up off the floor and Little Bean could still feel when she had wet herself. Win win!

Now Little Bean is two years old. We are currently still using the training pants when we are out. We still have accidents now and again, maybe once a day or every other day, but she mostly uses the toilet now. She is also getting much better at telling us when she needs to go to the toilet, instead of us asking her all the time. She is still wearing nappies for nap time and at night and I don’t really see this changing in the near future. I’ll keep you posted on other developments as they arise and try and get those training pant reviews up soon.

Peace, Nat

(Disclosure: Some of the links in this post are reference links. You will get a 10% discount for purchasing products through this link. Please see my about page for more information.)

Leave a Reply

